“The day He Took Control”; and original Stage play by Kennard Murray

It is my pleasure to be able to post in this blog the work of a very talented friend of mine, Mr. Kennard Murray.
He wrote this play using characters that we all know in one way or another. Adam, Eve, Satan, Lilith; only in his interpretation of this story we know some of the whys.

What makes this play wonderful in my eyes, is not only that way is was written, but the conflicts and the feelings of the characters, and of course the way the the story unravels. This does not stick to the biblical side of all the characters, or so I think, since my knowledge of the Bible is minimum at best.

Conflict is the very center of this play, its own entity, a character with no name if you will, but present never the less just like the ones that walk and talk. We can also see the power struggles of the characters, the hidden agendas, the why’s of it all. Yes, Eve does eat the apple, but it was not the fact but the reason behind it that surprised me. I have to say that I never put to much tough into why did Eve eats the apple. I guess I always tough that the fact that God made it forbidden pretty much signed their fate. Nothing tastes better that the forbidden, right?
By the end of this play, I do not believe that you will think the same way, because, from your point of view, if you where Eve, wouldn’t you?
I think I can see where Eve is coming from and emphasize with her on this.

What are you thoughts?

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Xox

THE DAY HE TOOK CONTROL
an original stageplay by KENNARD MURRAY

Kennard Murray
1301 Valley Trail
Whites Creek, TN 37189
615-818-3930 kennard.murray@students.cookman.edu 3/26/2013

CHARACTER NAMES

ADAM- the first man on earth
LILITH- the first woman on earth
SATAN- the home wrecker
EVE- the replacement

page2image2040

SETTING Garden of Eden TIME
Beginning of time

page3image1880 page3image2040

EXT. GARDEN OF EDEN – NIGHT
The DEVIL walks onto the empty garden up to the FORBIDDEN TREE. He hits the tree and two apples fall to the ground.
DEVIL
(aside)
If you ask me, he didn’t deserve a mate with such beauty like hers. Like a newborn dove shielded
under the wing of its mother, he didn’t yet know the true meaning of solitude; the depression that overwhelms the blood flowing through your body when you realize you’re alone. His stature was tall and strong but his thoughts reminded me of an infant crowned king. He was spoiled with a garden full of beautifully scented flowers, sweet fruits swarming the trees, and grass soft enough to be comfortably trapped in his erotic dreams. He didn’t know the feeling of love because he’s never experienced the feeling of loss. He was pure but far from perfect because he didn’t know what it meant to be grateful. At least not yet.
ADAM appears chasing a gleeful LILITH around the garden LILITH
You’re not going to catch me!
Yes I am!
Stop! Stop!
(playfully)
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
Not until you say you’re sorry.
ADAM chases LILITH around the tree
Alright, alright, I’m sorry.
Sorry for what?
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH I’m sorry for pushing you into the river. Truce?
She extends her hand
ADAM
Truce.
He grabs her hand pulling her towards him beginning to tickle her
LILITH Alright, alright, alright! I’m sorry, I’m sorry.
That’s right you’re sorry.
ADAM
3.
You cheated.
ADAM lets her go
ADAM
Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do to get what you want.
And what do you want?
I’m looking at her.
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
LILITH
I’m the only person here, who else are you gonna look at?
ADAM
True. But what I mean is I want you to be happy. I want to see that big smile on your face. Do
you remember the first night we got here? That day was scary. We cried all night until we actually said something to each other.
LILITH
I remember.
ADAM
And I remember the look in your eyes. The fear, the uncertainty. It took us awhile but we dried
our eyes. I wiped your tears, you wiped mine. We helped each other up. We heard the Word from our Heavenly Father and our purpose for being here. We stopped being scared and we started being brave. You helped me do that. And I’ll always appreciate that.
LILITH
That’s so sweet.
ADAM
That’s why I want you to always be happy. No matter what. I want you to have that smile on your
face for all eternity. And I’m going to make sure of it. LILITH
You think you’re up to the challenge?
ADAM I’ll go down swinging. That’s my promise to you.
I wanna make you happy, too.
You do?
Of course.
No matter what?
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
4.
No matter what.
Look at all this, Lilith. Ours, all ours.
ADAM (look around the garden)
Oh God, here you go with this again.
You just don’t understand.
I understand completely. (mocks)
Ours, all ours.
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
(raising his arms)
LILITH
ADAM
It’s true. We’ve named every animal, every plant, every tree, every fruit, every vegetable. We’ve
even named ourselves. Where did you come up with Lilith anyway? LILITH
It just came to me, just like Adam did.
Adam. Strong name. Tough. Manly.
I’m glad you liked it, manly man.
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
See that’s why we work so well together. You got the brains. I got the muscle. We’re a good team.
LILITH
Yeah I guess we are pretty good together.
ADAM
I mean the way we figured out how to make fire for the first time.
LILITH
Yeah that night was pretty amazing. That exhilarating feeling you get when you do something for
the first time. Then it makes you think about all the other new things out in this world that we have yet to see or do.
ADAM Exactly. We need to start thinking about our futures.
LILITH
Futures?
ADAM Have you been watching the elephants lately?
5.
LILITH
Of course I have, that’s all you have me doing during the day lately.
ADAM (CONT’D) Haven’t you noticed they’ve been awfully friendly towards one another?
LILITH
Oh here we go with this again.
ADAM
All I’m saying is the male elephant had been chasing the female elephant all over the place for
days until he finally caught up to her.
Is that how you saw it?
How did you?
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
You didn’t think that the woman elephant finally slowed down a little in order for the him to catch
up?
ADAM Perhaps. The poor guy was just too slow for the girl.
LILITH
Poor guy.
ADAM
No matter, that’s neither here nor there. The point is they are mating. Creating more of each other.
LILITH
So?
ADAM
So don’t you think we need to start creating more of each other?
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
Well first the male and the female “interact”. Then the female-
LILITH
The female goes through agonizing pain to birth a little animal that looks just like them. Now
what is it that you’re suggesting, Adam?
How do you suggest we do that?
Well I’ve been watching and-
(aggravated) Yeah I’ve been watching too. And what?
(hesitant)
6.
I’m starving.
ADAM (CONT’D) (changing the conversation)
ADAM walks over to the apple on the ground that fell earlier from the FORBIDDEN TREE
LILITH Don’t touch that! That came from the Forbidden.
Close one. Once again you saved my life.
You would’ve done the same for me.
Of course.
Do you trust me, Adam?
What?
Do you trust me?
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
What kind of question is that? Of course I do. What made you ask such a silly question?
LILITH
I was just curious. You haven’t been letting me do much lately, I thought maybe something might
be wrong.
ADAM
No nothing. You were great sweetheart, I just figured I got the hang of it so there was no sense in
having us both do something I could easily do myself.
LILITH
After the animals, you really didn’t let me name anything else. You mostly named all the trees or
plants. You don’t even let me carry the firewood back anymore.
ADAM
That is nothing you need to be concerned with. Those logs get pretty heavy. Just let me do that.
LILITH
It’s ok. I can carry some. There’s no point in you doing all the work when I can easily contribute.
Here you go.
What?
ADAM
LILITH
7.
ADAM
It wasn’t too long ago we came to the agreement that in order for us to make it through this journey
we have to be positive towards one another and support each other’s decisions.
LILITH
Yes, Adam, you’re right. I just think that it’s silly. But if it’s what you wish, I will comply.
ADAM
Thank you. But what are we going to do about this hunger?
LILITH There’s plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. Take your pick.
ADAM Am I the only one getting tired of this stuff?
LILITH
What stuff?
ADAM
These fruits and vegetables. They don’t fill me up. I find myself still hungry for more.
LILITH
Than eat more. They grow by themselves without us doing a thing.
ADAM
You see how great this place is.
(LILITH mocks him raising her arms)
Ours, all ours! We need to start worrying about our future and what’s next. This is a garden of opportunities. A place where we can experiment with new ways of living.
LILITH
Adam you’re babbling.
ADAM
I think we should reconsider our stance on perhaps eating one of the rounder, slower animals.
No!
Alright calm down.
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
You want to kill one of my animals. They did nothing to you.
ADAM Come on you haven’t once thought about it?
LILITH No. It’s not right. It’s not what Father would want.
ADAM
How do you know what he wants? He hasn’t spoken to us since the first day we got here.
8.
LILITH
We’re supposed to be positive in order for us to succeed, Adam. Is killing positive?
No, I guess not.
I didn’t think so.
But Lilith-
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
What happened to you wanting to make me happy? You know how much I feel about those animals
but you continue to press me about the subject which upsets me. Is that fair to me?
ADAM
I don’t mean to upset you, sweetheart. I’ll leave the matter alone for good. I promise.
LILITH
Thank you.
LILITH reaches up another tree taking down an orange giving it to Adam.
LILITH (CONT’D)
A orange. Your favorite.
ADAM, dissatisfied, quietly begins to peel the orange
LILITH (CONT’D) Have you ever thought about seeing what else is out there?
ADAM
What do you mean?
LILITH Out of the garden. Exploring the world outside of here.
ADAM
But this is our garden.
LILITH
That doesn’t mean we can’t explore and find new things outside of here.
ADAM What kind of idea is that? Have you not been listening?
Again, LILITH mocks ADAM as he raises his arms
ADAM (CONT’D) Ours, all ours! All we have to do is figure out what to do next.
What?
LILITH
9.
We take action.
Yes, but what action.
I don’t know.
(hesitant)
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
I think we should consider it.
ADAM
ADAM
I don’t know. Father made this place for us. How does it look for us to leave?
LILITH
Not for good. We can come back.
ADAM
Then why are we leaving at all? Now come on, let’s not discuss this subject. I feel strongly about
this, you can see that. This isn’t fair to me, now is it? LILITH
Fine.
ADAM
Thank you. Get you something to eat so we can have supper.
LILITH
I’m not hungry. I’m going to go for a walk. LILITH walks off
ADAM So much for keeping her happy for all eternity.
An apple falls from the FORBIDDEN TREE
ADAM (CONT’D)
Why doesn’t fruit fall from any other trees?
EXT. GARDEN OF EDEN – NEXT DAY LILITH enters
LILITH
Satan! Satan? Satan, where the heck are you? If you’re a snake, change from out of that body.
You know I can’t understand what you’re saying. Satan, I have to talk to you. Adam has left me alone again to sit by myself in the garden. This is so unfair. You warned me he would do this, I need your help.
SATAN (O.S.)
I’m right here, my dear. I’m just finishing up some of my gardening back here. I’ll be right there.
10.
LILITH
Why can’t I ever get to come back there to see the plants you grow? Adam still hasn’t been able to
name them yet.
SATAN
I have an appointment with him today in order for him to get the full experience of the plants
when he names them. But it’s not quite ready yet.
LILITH
Whatever it is, they smell terrific. I can’t wait to see what you came up with.
SATAN comes out
SATAN
It just needs some time to sit. Lilith, how have you been?
LILITH
Honestly, I don’t know. On the one hand, I’m flattered by a man wanting to serve me and flirt with
me all day. Telling me his job is nothing more but to keep a smile on my face. But on the other hand, we’re just not on the same page. He wants me to create life. He takes half the credit for the fire I created for the first time after he gave up after only a few tries. He wants to kill the animals that I named. He won’t even consider leaving the garden. God, what I wouldn’t give to be out in that world you described.
SATAN
Oh yes, it is a sight to see.
LILITH Tell me again what you saw when you traveled.
SATAN
Imagine a place where the ground we’re standing on elevated high up into the sky, so much so that
if you were at the top you could touch the clouds and the stars. LILITH
Wow.
Wow indeed.
And the water? Describe the water.
SATAN
LILITH
SATAN
Oh! The water! A beautiful sight. Picture a blue, enormous body as far as the eye can see. A
soothing sound of endless waves as they come right at you.
LILITH
It sounds so amazing. I wish Adam would change his mind, I would love to see with my own
eyes what you have already experienced.
Oh you must.
SATAN
11.
LILITH
But how? Adam refuses to go and I have to support him. That’s what this partnership is all about.
Supporting one another. Staying positive.
SATAN Sounds to me like you are doing all the supporting.
LILITH
No, we both support each other. He wants to kill the animals to fill his stomach but he wont because
of how I feel.
SATAN
Is that right? For the past couple of days, I’ve seen him pay a lot of attention to the cattle. But I
don’t want you to look at me as a troublemaker. Maybe he’s getting to know the animals better.
LILITH
Don’t put doubt into my head, Satan. I’m already a nervous wreck about the well being of those
animals as it is. I trust Adam and Adam trust me. SATAN
The sign of a loyal companion.
LILITH
Why would he want to kill anyway? It’s such a heinous act.
SATAN
Believe me, child, I understand. While Adam was still unsure about his place, you began to take
action. You began to name these voiceless beings roaming around you. You had to connect with them in order to give them their proper name. You had to allow them to get use to your touch and your warmth in order for them to trust you. In order for you to nurture them. Learn from them. They’re like your very own.
LILITH
You understand me so well. I wish Adam could see it the way you do.
SATAN
It takes time, my dear. I know better than anyone about time and being misunderstood. Adam is
still trying to figure out his place in this new world. LILITH
His place is with me.
SATAN
Precisely. But to understand the mind of another’s while you don’t quite understand your own is a
task in itself. Just breath, my child. Take in the beautiful aroma of my plants, it will relax you. Adam will come around.
LILITH
This was supposed to be easy. “Stay united and we’ll succeed”. That’s what Father said when he
spoke from up above.
SATAN
Far be it for me to speak ill towards our Father, but you must understand the perspective he’s coming
from. Heaven, the only place he’s ever been. (MORE)
12.
SATAN (CONT’D)
You see, in that world beauty is everywhere you look. The streets are made of gold, the walls are
clear as glass. There is no bright sun or subtle moon to shine over them because God’s glory is light enough to shine even the shaded. It is a harmonious place full of soothing sounds that lull your ear at its instant contact. In one word, it is “perfect.” You see, Father only sees the positive but never considers the need for some negativity to overcome some obstacles.
LILITH
Why do you speak against the Father the way you do? Do you not have love to the reason why
you were created?
SATAN
Quite on the contrary. I was his biggest supporter and one of his most trusted workers. I understood,
unlike the others, what he was trying to accomplish when he created all this land and animals.
The streets of heaven were overflown with angels with smiles on their faces and tears concealed inside their hearts. They were spoiled without even deserving it. He’s a loving God that gave them everything they could ever want but in the back of His mind he wondered if they reciprocated their love back to Him. So He decided to create a new world, only different from His. He created lands and animals you see roaming freely. He created the sun, the moon, and the clouds. He created the rain, the thunder, the lightning, and the snow. Only thing left was creating the people that would be put to the test. I was dismissed for having the audacity to think that a peasant angel such as myself could make a suggestion or two on how you two should have been made. I was the most beautiful angel made in His image. My contribution was well needed but he saw fit that I be removed from my duties. Livid by His decision, a few of my loyalists and I terrorized the golden streets. A war broke out which predictably ended badly for my crew and I. Our wings were taken from us and we were expelled indefinitely from the pearly gates. Every since then I’ve been stuck here on Earth alone reflecting.
And your followers?
Under us.
LILITH
SATAN
(point down)
Stewing until I can find a way to free them. That was our punishment. God made a world where
those who opposed His will were sent for all eternity with no leadership or guidance. A world He made inspired by me but a world that I myself can’t enter. Instead I’ve been stuck here all by myself. No followers to respect me nor angels to interconnect with. Loneliness was my punishment, an unjust punishment at that. I was given my opportunity to make things right with Him but instead I refused to ask for forgiveness.
LILITH
Why not? Was it all worth it?
SATAN
Sometimes it’s worth having your voice heard, even if somebody you’re loyal to disagrees. Now
what is it that you want?
For Adam to hear my voice.
Exactly.
LILITH
SATAN
13.
LILITH
But how?
SATAN How do you think? The man above, of course.
LILITH
I’ve only heard his voice once. Every since then, Father doesn’t answer when we call him.
SATAN (CONT’D)
Tell him what you want and he will give you what you need. Would you like me to show you how
to ask him?
Yes.
Great. Close your eyes.
LILITH
SATAN
LILITH
Wait, I have to find Adam. He should be here for this. He’s been wanting to speak to Father for a
while now.
LILITH exits stage right. SATAN smiles as he picks up an ORANGE from the ground. ADAM enters stage left.
Adam, glad to see you.
Nice seeing you again, Satan.
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
I’ve got something for you.
(tosses the ORANGE to ADAM)
An orange, your favorite.
ADAM drops the ORANGE on the ground
ADAM
Nice try. But I’m not eating the fruit that came from the Forbidden Tree.
Aw man! I almost got you.
No you didn’t.
I’ll trick you someday.
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
You’ll never trick me. Alright Satan, let’s get to it. You told me to come today so that I can name
your plants you keep bragging about.
14.
SATAN Good man. Come, come. Come take a look.
ADAM and SATAN walk to the edge of the stage looking at the plants ADAM
What is that I smell? Are those the plants?
Of course.
They look magnificent. They smell great.
I’m glad you like.
How did you grow them?
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
I’m one of many talents but more secrets. All I can tell you is that every leaf has a little of me in
them. I came across the idea one day when I was roaming the earth our Father created for us.
ADAM
Roaming the earth? You must be the one who put Lilith up to leaving the garden and exploring
the world. Do you know how much trouble you have been causing putting those thoughts into her head?
SATAN
I meant no harm, my friend. I was harmlessly telling her about my experiences. She was both
fascinated and curious. I merely obliged by answering the many questions she had.
ADAM Well every since then, that’s all she can think about.
She’s a very inquisitive woman.
Tell me about it.
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
But that’s a good thing. Very smart. She searches for knowledge.
ADAM
I know. That makes it even harder for me to please her. I just want to make her happy but she’s so
adamant about leaving the garden God made for us. It just doesn’t make sense to me. Why go outside our safe world to go into an unfamiliar one? Anything can happen. Things that we’re not prepared for.
SATAN
That’s her problem. As smart as she is, she doesn’t think things through. She doesn’t think about
what can go wrong because she’s too engrossed in what all the positive possibilities. (MORE)
15.
SATAN (CONT’D)
But see that’s why you’re here: for her. So you can guide her when she is about to make a major
mistake that could affect not just her, but you as well. You must take control, Adam. ADAM
I know, I know.
SATAN
Even if she resists and acts like she doesn’t want you to lead, you must continue to lead. She
doesn’t know what she wants or what she needs, neither of you do for that matter. But it’s you that must figure it out.
I know, I know. We’ve been through this.
And yet you’re still not learning.
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
What else am I supposed to do? I’ve already taken over all the work. I’ve named everything there
is to name. I lug all the firewood. I only gave her one job: make sure the animals are behaving themselves that’s it. And that doesn’t seem to be enough. I can’t control her desires, or anything that goes on in her mind for that matter. I try to take control but everything I do she seems to have a problem with. I’m trying my hardest to make her happy, but nothing seems to work. And now she wants to go on this dangerous journey to only God knows. What am I supposed to do?
SATAN Take that action that I’ve been telling you about.
ADAM
What action?! I’ve been taking actions since I got here and nothing seems to be enough for her. I
even try to satisfy her hunger but she hears nothing of it. SATAN
She didn’t go for eating the cattle, huh?
Not for a second.
What about the fish?
Nope.
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
Who would’ve thought? I figured she would’ve gone for it. They are good. And they fill you up,
too. Especially on those nights when your stomach aches in pain because it’s starving for satisfaction. It’s called hunger. You’re hungry. She is too, she just doesn’t know it. It’s your job to teach her what she doesn’t know. That’s what she needs.
How do you know what she needs?
ADAM
16.
SATAN
How don’t you? You need to be strong, Adam. Strong enough to be confident that your way is
the right way. For you and for her.
She seems to be strong enough herself.
ADAM
SATAN
Then what does she need you for?
(ADAM is speechless)
If you can’t make the person loyal to you believe in what you believe then you’re just weak. You know what happens when you’re perceived as weak? Somebody strong moves you out the way.
ADAM
Who’s gonna move me out of the way? I’m the only guy here.
SATAN
You’ve been created by the Almighty. Created with a snap of his finger. What makes you think
he can’t make another? Another strong enough to satisfy her the way that she needs. ADAM
Is that possible?
SATAN
I used to be the most beautiful angel with big, strong wings. Now look at me. Sullied by ugly and stuck here on earth watching over you two. Anything is possible, Adam, when He’s involved. My
point is you have to take charge, make her believe in you more than you believe in yourself.
ADAM How am I gonna force her to believe in me?
SATAN
Well as powerful as Father is, He’s just as jealous. If He senses any lack of faith towards Him or
His cause, He becomes resentful and irate.
You suggest I do that?
ADAM
SATAN
I suggest you do something to keep that girl before she goes on her journey without you. Or ask
the Lord to bring her someone else.
You think she would do that?
ADAM
SATAN
I think her faith in you is being tested as we speak. What are you going to do?
ADAM (stressfully rubs his head)
I don’t know.
SATAN
My friend. You’re stressed. Come, I have something that will ease your mind.
(laughs)
17.
SATAN takes him back over to the plants ADAM
I don’t need to see your plants again.
SATAN
But you haven’t seen the best part. What makes these plants so special are that they have powers?
ADAM
Powers? What kind of powers?
SATAN
Special powers. Powers that invades your mind when you feel like you can’t control all those
thoughts running through your brain. It calms you. It frees you from stress. It gives you the feeling of liberation and control in your life that you desperately need. It’s an aid. A guide to the answer that you’re looking for.
LIGHTS DIM as SATAN lights the plants on fire ADAM
Wait, what are you doing?
I’m bringing their powers to life.
You’re burning them.
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN Don’t worry they’ll be fine. Just relax, Adam. Breath.
This is dumb, I don’t have time to breath.
ADAM
SATAN
Just breath, my friend.
ADAM closes his eyes beginning to breath
SATAN
That’s right. Just let the powers within do their work on you.
Be grateful for all that you’ve been given. Visualize what it is that you want. And believe that you can have it. Are you feeling it?
I don’t know.
Yeah, you’re feeling it. THUNDER begins
(stutters)
ADAM
SATAN
SATAN (CONT’D) Sounds like rain. What do you want, Adam? What do you really want?
18.
I want…
You want what, Adam?
Control.
Louder.
Control.
Say it like you mean it.
I want control!
(louder)
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
That’s right. How are you going to get it?
I don’t know.
Would you like me to tell you?
Yes.
ADAM
SATAN
Well our Father, of course. The almighty, the all knowing, the all powerful. He can do anything,
remember? He can give you that control. You just have to demand it. ADAM
Give me control.
Say it again.
Give me control.
Again.
Give me control!
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
ADAM
SATAN
That’s right. Soon enough you’ll get it. It’s only a matter of time.
19.
THUNDER CLAP
SATAN (amused, looking up)
Sounds like rain.
EXT. GARDEN OF EDEN – MOMENTS LATER
THUNDER CLAPS. LILITH enters the empty garden searching for ADAM
Adam! Adam! Adam! Where are you? ADAM enters, groggy
What is it?
Adam, what’s wrong?
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
ADAM
What do you mean, what’s wrong? There’s nothing wrong with me.
LILITH
You look different. Your eyes don’t look the same as they usually do. You sort of look like you’ve
been crying.
ADAM
I haven’t been crying. What are you screaming my name so loud for anyway?
Oh yeah, come on!
Where?
LILITH
ADAM
LILITH
To Satan, he said he knows how to connect with Father. He knows how we can talk to him.
Come on, he can help us.
I just came from Satan.
You did?
SATAN enters
Indeed he did.
ADAM
LILITH
SATAN
LILITH Good, you’re here. Satan help us talk to our Father.
20.
It’s already been done, my dear.
LILITH
Already been done? Adam, you talked to our Father without me.
ADAM avoids eye contact
Adam?
The day has come, Lilith.
What day?
LILITH
SATAN
LILITH
SATAN
The day that you’ve been waiting for, of course. You’re free.
THUNDER CLAPS
I don’t understand.
LILITH
SATAN
SATAN
You’re free to follow your desires. To the see the world in all its splendor. You no longer have to
worry about another’s feelings, instead you are free to worry about your own. LILITH
(to ADAM)
Adam? Adam, what’s wrong? Why do you continue to look down?
SATAN
Precisely my point, my dear. You no longer have to concern yourself with the thoughts of another’s
mind, you selfishly worry about yourself and only yourself. You’re free, my dear. You’re free like me.
What? I don’t want to be free like you.
You wanted to see the things I’ve seen.
LILITH
SATAN
LILITH No! I mean yes. But with Adam, not by myself.
(to ADAM)
Tell him, Adam.
SATAN
It’s ok, my dear. Adam is no longer the guy you need, because you are all you need. Adam cannot please you the way you yourself can. Adam cannot feed your hunger, only you can properly fulfill
those desires. You should not have to worry about tending to another’s pride and insecurities. You should only be obligated to take care of your own.
21.
ADAM begins to exit, LILITH steps in front of him
LILITH
Wait, wait, wait! I don’t want to go anymore. Adam, don’t go! I’ll stay with you. I promise. I
won’t talk about it anymore.
SATAN
(laughs)
You are so sweet. That is not your only desires that he can’t meet, my dear. And he has desires
that you can’t meet either.
But we can work it out! Tell him, Adam.
LILITH
SATAN
He’s told me enough. And you have, too. Now is the time that our Father makes things right.
THUNDER CLAPS.
LILITH
Adam, we said that all we needed was to stay positive in order for us to be successful on our
mission. As long as we are together, side by side. Do you remember? That’s what we said. We said that all that we wanted was to make each other happy. I want to make you happy, Adam. Do you want to make me happy, still?
ADAM exits
Adam!
LILITH
SATAN
Now is not the time for tears, my lady. Now is the time for celebration. Laughter. Joy! You’re
free!
LILITH I don’t want to be free! I want to be with Adam.
Adam has a new partner.
Who?
She will be a gift from God.
I thought I was a gift from God.
I’m afraid this is not your destiny anymore.
What is my destiny?
SATAN
LILITH
SATAN
LILITH
SATAN (CONT’D)
LILITH
22.
(begins to exit) Liberation. Discoveries.
Loneliness?
LILITH
SATAN
SATAN
Indeed.
SATAN exits leaving LILITH standing by herself. THUNDER CLAP
LILITH
Lord Father, why must you forsake me like this? Where will I go? I don’t want to be by myself.
I’m guilty for desiring the unknown but innocent of betraying my partner to pursue such desires.
God why must Adam’s insecurities hurt me like this? I know he feels he must protect me but now he’s hurt me more than any rabid creature or injury could inflict. Father, how could I have made things right when he was so stubborn not to listen to my words? Why does he feel so obligated to protect me when we should have been protecting the animals? Why did he take on the role as leader when we could run together? Why am I by myself searching for another while you are creating another for Adam? Why am I cursed with continuing to love the man that no longer loves me
back? Why am I talking and nobody is answering? A life I must get use to for all eternity. For nobody to hear my cries or wipe my tears. Nobody to serenade me in the morning or kiss me good night. Who is this woman that Adam begged to replace me? Somebody submissive? A woman that will do whatever he wants? She cannot be me, for I was the first. And I pray with all my might that she will be forever stuck deep inside my shadows as she knows for all eternity I was his first.
THUNDER CLAP. LIGHTS GO BLACK
EXT. GARDEN OF EDEN – DAY SATAN walking around an empty garden
SATAN (CONT’D)
(aside)
He got what he wanted. As misguided as his judgment was he still got what he wanted. Now he’s
dealing with the consequences of the biggest mistake of his life. All thanks to me. He didn’t know the power of support, or the power of “we”, she kept talking about. He didn’t understand, but I did. The positivity she placed like a halo over his head went unnoticed, but I was well aware. I suppose I could have showed him the error of his ways. No doubt if I did it would have got me back on the Big Guy’s side, save my followers from the barrels of hell, and get my wings back. But I couldn’t. She wouldn’t allow it. Her sensual eyes and seductive sighs pled with me to free her from the injustice of inequality.
SATAN exits. ADAM and EVE walk out onto the garden. EVE
Tell me.
ADAM Tell you what? There’s nothing to tell, Eve.
23.
EVE
Nothing to tell. There was a female just like me before I got here. I just want to know more about
her.
ADAM There’s nothing to know. She came, she lived, she’s gone.
Gone where?
Just, gone.
What was she like?
(annoyed)
She asked a lot of questions, just like you.
(sad) I’m sorry. I was just curious.
EVE
ADAM
EVE
ADAM
EVE
ADAM
(sighs)
No, I’m sorry, sweetheart. Lilith was in the past, but you right now are my present. I don’t want to
have to think about her when I can think about you. Think about how I can make you happy and how I can keep that smile on your face for all eternity.
Really?
Really. You hungry?
EVE
ADAM
EVE
No, but if I need anything I can eat something off of this tree.
EVE walks to the FORBIDDEN TREE
ADAM
No! Remember Eve we are never to touch any fruit on this tree. Ever. Under any circumstances.
You understand?
Yes.
EVE
ADAM (CONT’D)
Alright, good. I’ll catch you something to eat. I’ll be back in no time. You stay here and tend to
the rest of the animals, okay?
Okay. See you when you get back.
EVE
24.
ADAM exits. SATAN enters.
Well hello.
Hello? Who are you?
SATAN
EVE
(startled)
SATAN
I’m the spirit they call Satan. I used to be beautiful. The most beautiful angel, in fact. I had these
big, strong, elegant wings attached to my back. I was loved by many and followed by more because of the beauty He bestowed on me.
He?
He? Your creator. Our creator.
Someone created us?
Not just someone, but the One. The Lord.
The Lord?
EVE
SATAN
EVE
SATAN
EVE
SATAN
Yes. Adam hasn’t told you about the Lord?
EVE
No, I just got here. You know Adam?
Sure. Me and Adam are close friends.
Really?
Indeed.
SATAN
EVE
SATAN
EVE Well nice to meet you, Satan. My name is Eve.
SATAN
The pleasure is all mine, Eve. So tell me, what has Adam told you so far?
EVE (CONT’D)
All that he has told me is that my name is Eve and that I come from him. That we are one of the
first people on earth. Only-
25.
Only what?
EVE Only he told about the woman that came before me.
You mean, Lilith?
You knew her?
SATAN
EVE
Please tell me what she was like.
Adam hasn’t told you about her either?
EVE
SATAN
(excited)
SATAN Very well. We had many intriguing conversations.
EVE No, not much. Just that she was in the past.
Indeed she was.
So tell me how she was.
SATAN
EVE
SATAN
SATAN
Very smart. Very beautiful. Fearless. She was intrigued by the new world she was in and she
wanted to take advantage of every of moment that presented itself. She was strong and exciting, with a smile that lit up the whole garden.
Wow she sounds amazing.
Indeed.
EVE
SATAN
EVE So what happened? Why isn’t she here anymore?
Well you replaced her of course.
Me?
Yes. He really never told you?
SATAN
EVE
SATAN
26.
No. Why did I replace her?
Well she wasn’t the right fit for Adam.
The right fit?
SATAN
EVE
EVE
SATAN
She wasn’t his soul mate. Her strength and his ambition didn’t mix, but it took Adam a long time
before he could realize that.
Why did it take so long?
EVE
SATAN
Love, my dear. Love. When you care for somebody or something so much your vision is blurred.
Sometimes you’re not able to see the truth when it’s right in front of you. EVE
Love?
SATAN
Soon you’ll learn, my dear. Soon you’ll learn what it means to care for somebody more than you
care about yourself. Soon you’ll do things in the name of pleasing the one you love even if it means sacrificing. Soon you’ll learn how Adam felt. Maybe someday he’ll feel the same way about you.
You think?
Anything is possible.
EVE
SATAN
EVE But how can he love me, when he loves another?
SATAN A good question. It seems you are at a disadvantage.
EVE
What should I do?
SATAN
The thing about love, my dear, is that it is etched into your heart and it takes time for it to finally
fade away. But if you really want to make an impression on a man in love, you have to do something drastic.
EVE
Drastic?
Sound of ADAM killing an animal offstage.
Drastic.
SATAN
27.
EVE
Maybe I won’t have to. He said he wants to make me happy.
SATAN
Let me guess, all he cares about is the smile on your face.
How did you know that?
Lucky guess.
Is that what he told Lilith?
EVE
SATAN
EVE
SATAN
That doesn’t matter. What matters is you making sure that he means what he told you?
EVE
But how?
SATAN
What you need to do is do something with him that he never did with Lilith?
SATAN bangs on the FORBIDDEN TREE and an APPLE falls to the ground. SATAN walks over and picks it up.
EVE
Oh no, Adam said we can’t eat the fruit that comes from that tree.
Did he ever tell you why?
No.
SATAN
EVE
SATAN
This, my dear, is the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil. It was created by the Lord. He created
this garden that you live in, too. If you eat this fruit you will become just like the Lord: almighty, all knowing, all powerful of good and evil.
EVE
Why shouldn’t we be able to eat it then?
SATAN
Because he’s a jealous God. In his eyes, there should only be one God.
So why eat it?
Can I tell you a little secret about Adam?
Yes, please.
EVE
SATAN
EVE
28.
SATAN
He defines himself by how much power and control he has. That’s his insecurity. That’s why Lilith
wasn’t the right fit for him. She was too free to care about control. She cared more about exploring the unknown. She didn’t care to know everything, instead she wanted to learn it on her own.
Adam wants it all given to him and this fruit will do just that.
EVE
I don’t know.
SATAN
Something drastic, Eve. But if you don’t want to, I understand. Maybe he’ll love you the way he
loved Lilith, one day.
Well…are they good?
EVE
SATAN Delicious. And look an apple, Adam’s favorite.
Really? It is?
EVE
SATAN
Loves them.
SATAN hands her the APPLE. LIGHTS DIM.
Ok.
Yes.
It is good.
EVE
EVE eats the APPLE while SATAN has a big smile on his face SATAN
EVE
SATAN
I’d never steer you wrong. Now go, my dear, go let Adam partake as well. You don’t want to be
the only one with all the knowledge, do you? Go. Go, my dear. EVE runs offstage leaving SATAN alone
SATAN (CONT’D)
(aside)
I’d say it was her innocence that sealed her fate. Two strangers bonded by this new life and
possibilities meaning this was their time. No redemption was needed because there were no mistakes to dwell on; no regrets because there were no memories. This was a fresh start they blindly took
for granted. On the contrary, I was doomed from the very beginning. I was made into an angel
with a vision, something the other angels were too afraid to have and those two humans lack. Blindly follow behind Father’s word and you live in eternal tranquility, it’s simple! But an angel
with vision has his wings cut off for having a mind his own. I tell you, this flat world we live on is an unbalanced one. Right or wrong nothing evens out.
Leave a Reply

